Officially called the Swiss Federation, Switzerland lies in western Europe and is bordered by Italy to the west, Germany to the north, Liechtenstein and Austria to the east and France to the west. Bern is the capital of Switzerland, a landlocked country that consists of 26 cantons, or territorial subdivisions that differ slightly in administration procedures. The majority of Switzerland's population (nearly eight million people) live on an area referred to as the "Plateau", where the heavily populated cities of Geneva and Zurich are located.

Switzerland is famous for being one of the wealthiest countries in the world. Residents possess the highest amount of non-financial and monetary assets per individual as compared to any other citizens in the world. Additionally, Geneva and Zurich consistently rank as two cities exhibiting the best standards of living among all other global cities. Switzerland's stable economy is attributed to its self-sufficiency through farming and effective manufacturing practices that allow it to export large amounts of goods. Other areas that Switzerland shows excellent economic expertise include tourism, international banking, transportation, biotechnology and research and development.

Centrally located in the heart of Europe, Switzerland is celebrated for its efficiency and productivity, not to mention its stunning geography and rich history of neutrality. With three native languages, German, French and Italian, along with an abundance of English speaking study opportunities, Switzerland is a premiere destination for international students.

Switzerland’s Law System

Based on the tradition of civil law, Switzerland has a statute-based legal system which is independent of all other government branches. All law-making power lies with the country’s 26 states, known as cantons, except when expressly stated by its Constitution as belonging to the federal authorities. Federalism remains a fundamental component of the Swiss legal system.

Universities in Switzerland