India is a South Asian country that is home to nearly a billion and a half people, the second largest population in the world after China. India's maritime borders consist of the Indian Ocean, the Arabian Sea and the Bay of Bengal and its land shares borders with China, Pakistan, Bhutan, Nepal, Bangladesh and Burma. The Republic of India possesses the 11th largest economy in the world and is currently one of the world's fastest growing countries in terms of GDP and export of goods.

The federal government of India is comprised of an executive, legislative and judicial branch, with the President of India acting as the head of state. The President is elected using an electoral college system and remains in power for five years. The Prime Minister, who is appointed by the President, is considered the head of government and maintains the highest level of executive power. The Indian legislative branch adheres to the Westminster-parliamentary style system of rule due to the heavy influence of past British colonialism. India is governed by a parliamentary system comprised of seven union territories and 28 states.

India's Legal System

Because India is a highly diverse, multi-cultural country, their English model common law system is complemented by personal law codes applying to Hindus, Muslims and Christians. The highest court in India is the Supreme Court (30 associate justices and one chief justice) which hears cases that have emerged unresolved from lower courts.

The legal profession is recognized as a "noble" profession in India because lawyers are seen as upholders of the constitution and guardians of a venerable yet modernized legal system. Broadly classified, India law is categorized into these specific areas: civil, criminal, tax, constitutional, real estate, international, patent/copyright, labour and family law.

Universities in India