Bordered by Poland, Germany, Slovakia and Austria, the Czech Republic is located in central Europe and claims the Moravia and Bohemia territories as part of its republic. The World Bank designated the Czech Republic as a developed country in 2006 and currently boasts the highest human development level among eastern and central European countries. A parliamentary democracy holding ninth position on the list of "most peaceful countries" within Europe, the Czech Republic is a member of the European Union, the Council of Europe and NATO.

The head of government in the Czech Republic is the Prime Minister, who oversees a bicameral Parliament and is accompanied by the Chamber of Deputies and the Senate.The head of state is the President, who is limited to exercising certain powers involving returning parliamentary bills, nominating judges to the constitutional court and dissolving Parliament under unusual conditions.

The Legal System in the Czech Republic
Czech Republic's legal system is called "Právní řád České republiky" (the "legal order of the Czech Republic") which strongly associates with the Germanic branch of civil law and includes criminal, procedural, labour and administrative branches that are codified systematically.

Sources of written law vital to regulating the Czech Republic's legal system are acts of parliament and delegated legislation as well as ratified international treaties and findings established by the Constitutional Court of the Czech Republic. Since the momentous regime change in 1989, the Czech Republic's justice and law system has been constantly evolving to mirror the principles and structure of a democratic government.

Although case law is not theoretically ascribed to the source of all law, the decisions made the Constitutional Court and supreme courts hold substantial influence with guidelines supporting the Czech system of law.

Universities in Czech Republic